A Christian Perspective on GOP Candidates Ron Paul and Newt Gingrich

 

By Brian Hughes

Here is my perspective and opinion about GOP Candidates Ron Paul and Newt Gingrich. I am still fairly new to the political arena and as a conservative. Anyway, I have been trying to choose a GOP Candidate to support for the 2012 election and I keep hitting a brick wall. As a Christian I have certain criteria that I look for in a leader. The number one thing I look at is their faith. Number two I look at his or her political stances that I feel are important to me. Number three I look at their track record. Now I have to say, this can be very tricky and you have to find good sources and cross reference the information but, the most powerful tool at my disposal is prayer.

First, I will talk about Ron Paul. I have to admit at first glance, I thought Ron Paul was very courageous and valiant to go after the Fed. I like that he wants to preserve our Constitution and live up to it as a Nation. But as I dug a little deeper I found some things that just didn’t add up.

I went to a Ron Paul supporter picnic with a friend of mine from Church who was supporting him. I wanted to remain open minded to him as the possible Candidate for my family and I to support. I listened to what the people there had to say and studied the material they had. I even got into some brainy conversations about conspiracies and the establishment. I try to be very careful with that information because by itself it is useless and can do more harm than good. I believe that conspiracy theories even if they are right are useless without faith in Jesus Christ and a relationship with Him. I went home and did research for myself.

I looked at the material and reflected on several interviews and debates I’ve seen with Ron Paul. The two things that bothered me the most about his ideology was his stance on gay marriage and his stance on Israel. I began to do more research to see if Ron Paul would be the best choice for me and my family as Christians. I went to his website and read his content. He had a nice page about his faith with a little testimony. I was linking everything so far except for those two issues.

Finally I stumbled on an article that talked about Ron Paul’s stance on gay marriage. Ron so elegantly raps his stance on gay marriage in the cloak of liberty but I found it to be a sham. I found that his faith is compromised and he is basically a liberal Christian that doesn’t believe the act of homosexuality is a sin. I prayed about this and discussed it with my Pastor and other Christians even my friend that took me to the picnic. I even wrote an email to his campaign asking for him to further explain but I never heard a response. I came to the conclusion that the deficiency in his faith has affected his policies on gay marriage and don’t ask don’t tell.

Here is the article and the radio interview with Ron Paul and John Lofton of The American View. After listening to this interview and reading the article it became clear that since he does not believe that God sees the act of homosexuality as a sin and doesn’t believe it himself, it’s affecting his political ideology. After prayer and discussion my friend from Church that was supporting him stopped and took his sticker off his bumper.

In light of voting for a God fearing leader I have to make this presumption. Rep Ron Paul does not have the fear of God in light of the act of homosexuality and sin so then it will continue to cloud his moral judgment when writing policies and governing. As Christians we should know that sin is not negotiable. Now back to the drawing board.

The next candidate I started to look at was Newt Gingrich. I had several conservative friends that liked him and I liked some of the interviews and debates he was in, especially the Thanksgiving Family Forum. A friend of mine told me that he saw an article saying that Newt was not as Pro-Life as he claims. Read the article here. After seeing his interview with Jake Tapper on ABC News and reading this article, I was a little confused when he said life didn’t start at conception but rather at implantation. After he declared at the Thanksgiving Forum 2011 that life did start at conception and has said that several other times. So I decided to do some more research and discussed it with my wife. I took it to prayer and discussed it with some other Christians that are seasoned in politics and some leaders in the Pro-Life arena.

The conclusion has been that Newt is definitely making a distinction between the two and does open the door for him to support or be in favor of the Plan B Pill or the “Morning After Pill”. My wife and I decided that Newt was not the best choice for us so we moved on to the next. This was becoming very frustrating, to find a Candidate that was Pro-Faith, Pro-Family and Pro-Life with no exceptions. I prayed and remained still waiting for the LORD to reveal the best choice for us.

It’s getting down to the wire and we need to steer the ship clear from the danger we are headed for as a Nation. Christians do your homework and look into these candidates and see which one the LORD wants to lead our great Republic. I know that with research, prayer and talking to others about them we will be able to discern the right choice and help support it to happen. If we don’t the enemy could win again.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” – Edmund Burke

 

Do you need an SEO Expert?

 

7 comments on “A Christian Perspective on GOP Candidates Ron Paul and Newt Gingrich

  1. Ron Paul was BOO’d for suggesting we have a foreign policy that reflects the biblical golden rule lol. God forbid he has TWO policies you don’t agree with, he’s a human being.

  2. If you think you’re going to find a Presidential candidate who lives completely without sin, or any human being in the world for that matter your views are obviously distorted, and it’s sickening that you have the audacity to call yourself a Christian. Ron Paul wants to stop our imperialistic ways, that alone has more Christian sentiments than Newt’s views on the gays. A man who wants to stop killing people, but might not have some dogmatic inefficiencies when it comes to gays surely should be appreciated for doing what no other Presidential candidate will do. Seriously question the way in which America uses it’s foreign policy to establish a global hegemon through mostly coercion and the continued exploitation of the alterity.

  3. Hopefully you’ll give Ron Paul another chance, because clearly you can articulate your thoughts and affect your friends and loved ones view points. Just don’t be so close minded about such miniscule convictions when there’s so much at stake. Read more into why he wants to cut off aid completely, not just to Israel whether you agree with it or not and form a more compassionate view. There is no man who lives without sin, but there is clearly one GOP candidate who strives against it more than the rest. Ron Paul 2012! 😀

  4. First I would like to thank you for being civil and not crude or belligerent. It’s really sad how some of the Ron Paul supporters are acting, it’s embarrassing to Ron Paul’s campaign and they have apologized for it which I commend. My friend you are deceived. yes all men sin, not one is righteous but that doesn’t mean we don’t acknowledge what sin is. I’m not judging Ron Paul as a man, I’m judging him as a leader because God commands us to.

    Here are the scriptures I am referring to;

    Good Leaders
    “The God of Israel said, The Rock of Israel spoke to me: ‘He who rules over men must be just, Ruling in the fear of God. And he shall be like the light of the morning when the sun rises, A morning without clouds, Like the tender grass springing out of the earth, By clear shining after rain.’ 2 Samuel 23:3-4

    “Moreover you shall select from all the people able men, such as fear God, men of truth, hating covetousness; and place such over them to be rulers of thousands, rulers of hundreds, rulers of fifties, and rulers of tens.” Exodus 18:21

    “Now therefore, be wise, O kings; be instructed, you judges of the earth. Serve the LORD with fear, and rejoice with trembling.” Psalm 2:10-11

    Bad Leaders
    “Confidence in an unfaithful man in time of trouble, Is like a bad tooth and a foot out of joint.” Proverbs 25:19

    “A ruler who lacks understanding is a great oppressor, but he who hates covetousness will prolong his days.” Proverbs 28:16

    “If a ruler pays attention to lies, all his servants become wicked.” Proverbs 29:12

    “And He spoke a parable to them: “Can the blind lead the blind? Will they not both fall into the ditch?” Luke 6:39

    If God wants me to choose a leader who fears God than I would have to know and judge that man by his faith, character and history. I found through that article and radio interview that Ron Paul does not believe homosexuality is a sin, that means he does not fear God in that area. He makes it a medical issue and not a moral issue, when clearly it’s mainly a moral issue (spiritual issue). That is a serious issue in our Nation today and the threat of the family being destroyed is upon us. If you are a Christian, you should understand this. I was at one of Ron Paul’s picnic rally’s the day I found this out and I was researching him to see if I would be supporting him. No one else influenced me to make my decision my friend other than Paul himself.

    You seem to think that homosexuality and other sexual sins are trivial to God. That would cheapen the grace of Jesus Christ and His work on the cross.

    We as Christians have to stop compromising what God expects from us for our own desires. People are to caught up in voting based on money, power, knowledge, cunning, policy and ignorance. Just because someone has a few good ideas doesn’t mean he is the Godly choice for Christians to choose as a leader. I pray that you would give it some thought and prayer.

    Read this Blog Unholy Week? Crucifying Christ Afresh through ‘ Gay Marriage ’

  5. Shalom ~ Commend your efforts. Wonder if your corral of Christian concerns is either too small, not straight, or not strong and seasoned enough to make the conclusions you have made. Wisdom, as you recall in the Sacred Scripture Scrolls demonstrated by Solomon and the baby, was NOT to wield the sword on the baby so that each prostitute mother could have half. GOD-given wisdom displayed may appear simple (using or not using the sword) to the casual observer coming late to the decision-making process. However, the process of gaining GOD’s Wisdom is nurtured by humble relationships with faithful fathers and mothers of faith. Patriarchs and matriarchs are intentional to inspire and inform.

Leave a Reply

