Rick Santorum Never Said He Wanted to Ban Birth Control

By Brian Hughes

Republican Presidential Candidate Rick Santorum never said he wanted to ban birth control. He is not flip flopping on the issue, he flat out never said it. The media has been spinning a lot of what the former Senator has been saying to deter possible voters for whatever reason. I have attached the video of Rick’s interview with David Gregory on Meet the Press from February 12, 2012. In this interview the very first thing addressed is the contraception rumor. Rick doesn’t hide his values or his faith but that doesn’t mean he actually wants to ban birth control. The media is constantly taking what Santorum says regarding any Social issues and painting him to be some type of extreme religious nut.

 

Help Rick Santorum send Barack Obama packing!

We help you get to the top of Google

4 comments on “Rick Santorum Never Said He Wanted to Ban Birth Control

    • He is as you can see in this video. He was asked the same thing and gave the same answer in several interviews that week as well. It’s the media that is not helping to get his message out there. If it was Obama it would have been cleared up immediately. This is the challenge Rick has had to face this whole campaign and it was the same in PA when he ran there.

  1. I cannot speak for Rick. I can only speak for me. I have no problem with anyone else using birth control. That is their personal business. However, I don’t believe the Catholic church should have to pay for birth control for those who do. There ain’t no such thing as a free lunch.

    Birth control medication isn’t health care, unless it is prescribed for a medical condition. I’ve talked to my doctor and she said her nurse simply calls the insurance company, affirms the diagnosis, and under certain diagnoses (like ovarian tumors), even the Catholic Church doesn’t deny that this is a medical issue. Sometimes I get an initial turn down on my own health insurance. It is my responsibility to call the insurance company if I disagree with the insurance company. This happens frequently on Medicare Advantage plans.

    The media is not reporting the fact that abortifacients are included in the HHS mandate. This is misleading the public. There are a number of other religions besides the Catholic Church that have objections to covering morning after pills, IUDs, abortions, etc. Coercing religious organizations into paying for services that are against their conscience is a first amendment issue.

    Rush Limbaugh used foul language to describe a young woman who made a fairly strong case in support of the HHS mandate. He was inappropriate and, I understand, has apologized for his choice of words. The media declares he represents the Republican Party. He does not represent me as a female Republican voter.

    I have done my own research on both sides of the issue, and reached my own conclusions. As a senior citizen (71, retired school teacher), I take several medications on a regular basis. None of my medications (and they are ALL clearly prescribed for my health) are covered without co-pays. If they were, I probably would insist on the highest priced, most effective medications on the market. Instead, I ask the doctor to prescribe generic Rx’s whenever feasible. If there were no co-pays, I probably would not even ask about generics.

    I resent the group of college students at Georgetown University ($60,000.00 annual tuition, including room and board) for demanding free birth control, when I have to cover my own co-pays. I worked 51 years before I retired. My annual social security benefits are only 1/3 the amount of one year’s tuition at at Georgetown University. I resent that the Democratic administration (and the news channels) portray themselves as representing the poor through the HHS mandate debate. This group of students are trying to rip off John Q. Public.

Leave a Reply

